check_nrpe + indirect checks shown on wrong host

Hi,

First: maybe I’m missing something obvious, since I’m fairly new to Nagios.

I’ve setup a Nagios installation which is monitoring several Linux servers and one Windows server using respectively NRPE and NSClient++ (and some regular checks like check_http). One of the Linux servers is running postfix with MailScanner and the Windows server is running Exchange 2007. I’ve got the internal monitoring working great, but I want to keep an eye on my Exchange server - especially the receiving bit.

Since the Exchange SMTP server is configured to only accept e-mail from the MailScanner machine, I have to run the check_smtp from the MailScanner. It’s possible to do this through ‘indirect checks’, according to the NRPE documentation and indeed, that’s working. The only problem is: I have to add the check to the MailScanner machine - meaning that the status will show up under the MailScanner host. Is there any way to get the indirect check show up under the Exchange host? Using arguments ($ARG1$) instead of the hostaddress ($HOSTADDRESS$) and passing the MailScanner IP as $ARG1$ doesn’t seem to work (ending up in errors from check_smtp, saying it’s used incorrect).

The reason I really want to change this, is that this can easily lead to loss of service: our MailScanner machines are redundant (using multiple MX records) but our Exchange isn’t. If someone would interpret a notification incorrect, it could be decided not to act upon it immediatly but leave it till working hours (for example) - thereby delaying important e-mail.

Thanks for any help on this.