yes, it does make sense
but, for my part: I haven’t found a clean way to do that …
the best I can propose is:
edit your nagios.cfg and comment every services & hosts & hostgroups (except a dummy host+service, in order to reload nagios without errors).
do a nagios reload;
and put them all back afterwards.
nagios will then see all your tests as new ones; and won’t have any data for them (except in history and notifications; but you can delete the nagios.log and the archives dir in nagios-install-dir/var if you want to get rid of them).
Hope this helps ^^
btw: if someone has a better way to do that, I’m all ears