Retry Checks and premature alerts

I have been running Nagios sucessfully for a couple years now without any major issues and without any major config changes but recently i’ve begun to see a steady increase in premature alerts, unreachable host and plugin timeouts. The recheck interval seems to be set too fast (3 sec) even though my config is at 10 check attempts and at minimun 3 minutes. Some of the questionable alert history data is below. Anyone have any idea what could be causing this or how i can increase this recheck for unreachable hosts or timeouts to something more reasonable?

[01-11-2006 05:46:19] HOST ALERT: xxx;DOWN;HARD;10;CRITICAL - Host Unreachable (x.x.x.:evil:
Host Down[01-11-2006 05:46:16] HOST ALERT: xxxx;DOWN;SOFT;9;CRITICAL - Host Unreachable (x.x.x.:evil:
Host Down[01-11-2006 05:46:13] HOST ALERT: xxxx;DOWN;SOFT;8;CRITICAL - Host Unreachable (x.x.x.:evil:
Host Down[01-11-2006 05:46:10] HOST ALERT: xxxx;DOWN;SOFT;7;CRITICAL - Host Unreachable (x.x.x.:evil:
Host Down[01-11-2006 05:46:07] HOST ALERT: xxxx;DOWN;SOFT;6;CRITICAL - Host Unreachable (x.x.x.:evil:
Host Down[01-11-2006 05:46:04] HOST ALERT: xxxx;DOWN;SOFT;5;CRITICAL - Host Unreachable (x.x.x.:evil:…

Maybe I asked this question poorly. Basically, when a host goes Critical or Unreachable as in the above case Nagios is rechecking it every 3 seconds up to its max_check_attempts variable (which is 10). This is too frequent, where is the configuration option that will allow me to increase this time interval? I realize i could increase the check attempts to some number greater than 10 to extend the time before an alert but that seems like the wrong way to go about it.

I might be wrong, but it looks like you’ve set your global interval_length to 3 seconds ? Is that the case?

If so, I would imaging it is a little excessive - even my interval of 15 seconds is a bit obsessive.

Anyway, you can set the retry_check_interval for a service - this is a multiple for interval_length