Windows.cfg

Hi everyone newbie here. I have set up Nagios and one agent on a windows server for testing to see how everything works. I ve finally got my e-mail notifications working with help from this forum.

My question is I want to start deploying agents on other servers, do I need to make a new windows.cfg file for each one. Example Server1 server1.cfg, Server2 server2.cfg Or do I just keep adding to the original windows.cfg

Example:

Create a service for monitoring the uptime of the server

Change the host_name to match the name of the host you defined above

define service{
use generic-service
host_name Server1
service_description Uptime
check_command check_nt!UPTIME
}

Create a service for monitoring the uptime of the server

define service{
use generic-service
host_name Server2
service_description Uptime
check_command check_nt!UPTIME
}

Create a service for monitoring CPU load

define service{
use generic-service
host_name Server1
service_description CPU Load
check_command check_nt!CPULOAD!-l 5,80,90
}

Create a service for monitoring CPU load

define service{
use generic-service
host_name Server2
service_description CPU Load
check_command check_nt!CPULOAD!-l 5,80,90
}

Ok I figured it out.

Can you tell me how you figured it out? I have the EXACT same question myself.

Thanks!

Generally I would suggest you add them to the same file, but in some cases you may want to make additional files. As you add more and more to nagios you may find one file a little unruly. I have a few config file for organization purposes. Since I have so many servers to monitor I use a seperate config file for each hostgroup. But if you only have a few servers stick to one. I just found 150+ servers and anywhere from 1 to 20 services per server to be too much for one file.

In short nagios doesn’t care so do whatever you and your colleagues find easiest to manage.