check_snmp missing

Hi everyone,

I’m brand new to Nagios and here is what I have done and the problem I am having.
First, I used the Quickstart Installation Guides to install Nagios. Version nagios-3.0.6.tar.gz and nagios-plugins-1.4.13.tar.gz
And used the Fedora Quickstart procedure since that is my linux flavor.

After the install here is what I did.
Know problem getting localhost to show up on the web gui. WOW it works!
Ok, on to configure my first windows box. Followed quick start guide, made config changes. It works! Can’t believe it, on to the next devices I want to look at.
Monitoring Routers and Switches. Ok followed quick start guide made changes to nagios.cfg and switch.cfg. Go back to GUI and refresh, can’t believe it my first switch is listed! This is to easy. Wait, whats this, errors.

ProCurve S1

PING OK 03-15-2009 13:39:39 2d 23h 50m 11s 1/3 PING OK - Packet loss = 0%, RTA = 1.92 ms
Port 1 Bandwidth Usage UNKNOWN 03-15-2009 13:34:42 2d 23h 49m 8s 3/3 check_mrtgtraf: Unable to open MRTG log file
Port 1 Link Status CRITICAL 03-15-2009 13:35:44 2d 23h 48m 6s 3/3 (Return code of 127 is out of bounds - plugin may be missing)
Uptime CRITICAL 03-15-2009 13:36:47 2d 23h 47m 3s 3/3 (Return code of 127 is out of bounds - plugin may be missing)

Hmm. I think the problem is “check_snmp” since it is missing under “/usr/local/nagios/libexec” directory.
I look and look for documentation how to install the missing file but can’t find it?

So this leads to my problem, how do I get this file on to my box. Please no replies “just download the plugin” If you can tell me what plugin and how to install it that would be greatly appreciated. I have been reading this forum and looked on the nagios website but cant find what I need to get it working. Or is it another problem?

Thanks,
Rick

Hi

check_snmp is part of the nagios-plugins but it won’t compile it if you don’t have net-snmp, as indicated in the REQUIREMENTS file included with nagios-plugins…