Dont understand why?

I am new to nagios.

I have downloaded version 3.0.3, compiled and installed it on a Solaris 10 x64 server according to the instructions that I have found. I also set up and agent on a windows xp box using the NSclient++. I followed the instructions to add basic monitoring of the windows box to the configuration files of nagios.

When I go through the web interface, and chose host detail, it says the windows box it down as its status. Status information says CRITICAL - You need more args!!!. Now the interesting part. When I drill into the details of the windows server I see green OK status for things like memory and disk space. So this tells me that it is communicating to the agent on the windows box.

Any suggestions as to what I may be doing wrong?

Check the host object definition for the server in question. i.e.

define host{ use windows-server ; Inherit default values from a template host_name <whatever> ; The name we're giving to this host etc
Then check the template object (nromally in templates.cfg by default) you are using for this server (i.e. from the “use” variable, in the case above it would be “windows-server”). This may or may not refer to a further template, in which case check that also. What you are looking for somewhere within these objects is the variable that looks like

check_command check-host-alive

“check-host-alive” is the command that is being used to check the health of the host. It usually refers to a simple ping command and should be defined (again default) in commands.cfg like

# 'check-host-alive' command definition define command{ command_name check-host-alive command_line $USER1$/check_ping -H $HOSTADDRESS$ -w 3000.0,80% -c 5000.0,100% -p 5 }
If none of this is looking familiar on your installation then please post your host object and appropriate templates for review.

HTH

/S

Thanks for the reply!!!

in the windows.cfg file I see this entry: