How do I set up event handler to restart Windows service

I am new to linux as well as Nagios. I have Nagios set up and it is monitoring a few test servers for some basic services. I have read and read and cannot find how to start a stopped service on Windows Server. I did make sure event handler was enabled, but the documentation refers to scripting the start up of linux services, not Windows. I figured I can create a .bat file to do a simple net start, but how does Nagios run it? Is it something like this? (example of the server service)

define service{
host_name somehost
service_description Server Service
max_check_attempts 4
event_handler restart_server
}

Than for the handler command:
define command{
command_name restart-httpd
(This is where I am unsure. Do I give it a path to the .bat file?)

Is nagios able to run this file from the host PC. In these linux script examples I am unsure if the script is on the Nagios server of the host server. Any help would be awesome. Hopefully I’m close to accurate here.

You can use NRPE/NSClient++ and instead of using it to run remote scripts to check something, use it to restart your services. See

nagios.sourceforge.net/docs/3_0/ … ndows.html
trac.nakednuns.org/nscp/

HTH

/S

Great! I’ll read up on it. Thank you.

OK… it took a while but to configure service starts it appears you need to tweak this in the NSC.ini file? Is this correct. Well I suppose I can just tweak and test and see what happens.