How to install new add ins

Hi
How do you install new Plugins in Nagios?
Do I just have to extract the downloaded plugin?
Or do you need to register them somewhere
For example I have downloaded the plugin:
check_hp_fan.sh
check_hp_mem.sh
check_hp_pwr.sh

Why do these plugins have the ending .sh?

And how do i use the plugins?
If I just add a service looking like this it does not work at all:

define service{
host name blue-vs3
service description Server Fans
check command check_hp_fans.sh
max_check_attempts 3
check interval 60
}

I read you need the switch -h (host) don’t know what to add in there and the switch c (public) no clue either

Sorry to be a pain but I am a absolute newbie and searched the forum for a while but could not find anything.

Thanks for your help guys
Sepp

the usage of a plugin is defined in the commands.cfg file, the service.cfg file calls the command as defined in commands… :slight_smile:

Have a look at the files and run the plugin from the commmand line with the --help switch and you should get it working.

Luca

Hi Luca,
Thanks for your reply, unfortunately it does not answer any of my questions, and i am still stuck at the same place. If you are a Nagios expert it might seem easy. I am not. :cry:

So back to the Question, maybe somebody has a bit more details.

How do I install a new Plugin.
I believe I copy the Plugin into the libexec folder.
How do I define that plugin in the commands.cfg?

And what does the ending .sh mean? (checheck_hp_fan.sh)
Do I have to install the Plugin to get it working or just copy that File into the libex folder?

If i run the command “check_hp_fan.sh --help” from the right folder it says the command could not be found :frowning:

Unfortunately you seem to be missing the basics of linux/unix AND of nagios…