Nagios, agents, smnp, graphing tools (info for those in need

Overview

i started using nagios as a complete noob. the following is a overview of what i have learned.

Nagios is a monitoring tool that identifies problems on your network before end users do. it was desighned to run under linux but can run under other nix variants as well. this includes windows. Plugins can be used to specify what the nagios server is to monitor. these plugins can be downloaded from various site like: sourceforge.net, nagios.org, nagiosexchange.org. Also it is possible to write your own nagios plugins.
more detailed informations is available at www.nagios.org

to monitor another computer in a network you need to have installed a agent on to the computer. the agent will send the information it has collected back to the nagios server to determine its status. Agents can also be written with scripts if a agent cannot be found to suit your purposes. many agents can be found at deadcat.net.au. these agents are made to be used on big brother and not nagios but most of the big brother agents are compatible with nagios.
the most common agents used for nagios is nsclient and nrpe agent. Nsclient can be used to check:

CPU load (single or multi-processors machines)
Memory load
Disk space
Service state
Process state
System uptime
File date & time

you can dowload ns client from:
javaworld.com/javaworld/jw-1 … pm-p2.html
or
nsclient.ready2run.nl/download.htm

some other agents can be found at
nagiosexchange.org/Windows.49.0.html

with nagios when information is collected one would most likely want the information to be readable. to do this you may want to graph the information you come across. some graphing tools that work with nagios are:

Munin graphing tools, found at
www.linpro.no/projects/munin

nagios grapher, found at
nagiosexchange.org/Charts.42 … iew%5D=195