Nagios Disk Space Monitor: Can it show the *amount* of free

Greetings y’all. I’m a serious Nagios rookie.

I have Nagios up and running. I’m currently monitoring three servers. I’m getting alerts that the amount of free disk space (on Windows boxes) is low. Is there a way to configure the alerts to show me the amount (instead of just “Service: Disk Usage on D Drive”)? Or even the percent free/used?

Hi

You need to make use of the some or more of the following macros in your alert notifications…
$HOSTOUTPUT$
$LONGHOSTOUTPUT$
$SERVICEOUTPUT$
$LONGSERVICEOUTPUT$
If you take a look at nagios.sourceforge.net/docs/3_0/pluginapi.html it will help explain better exactly which portion of your plugin output is refered to by what macro.

HTH

/S

Thanks, Strides. I think I’m on to it now. I appreciate the help.

Well I thought I was on to it. Can you clarify a couple things for me?

I have a copy of host-notify-by-email, and it works. What do I need to do to my check_nt_disk_C so it uses those parameters? Am I making sense? I’m losing something somewhere.

Do I need to create a new service check?
What’s the connection between the two? In-other-words, how does check_nt_disk_C call (if that’s the correct term) host-notify-by-email?

Hi

Your check should already provide that info, if you run it from the command line you should see something like…

[root@localhost libexec]#./check_nt -H 10.240.7.145 -p ***** -s ***** -v USEDDISKSPACE -l c -w 80 -c 90 c:\ - total: 4.01 Gb - used: 2.92 Gb (73%) - free 1.09 Gb (27%) | 'c:\ Used Space'=2.92Gb;3.21;3.61;0.00;4.01