Nagios Exchange Plugins

Hi there,

I am very new to Nagios. I have managed to get it set up and running. This may seem like a dopey question but here goes. I want to add an email check plugin from Nagios Exhange. It is a Python file. What is the procedure to get Nagios to be able to use this plugin?

cedross

Hi

“Normally” :slight_smile: you would put the check plugin into your libexec directory and give it such permissions (chown nagios:nagios & chmod 755) as to allow nagios to use it (i.e. as per the other checks in libexec dir)…

[root@localhost libexec]# ll check_foo -rwxr-xr-x 1 nagios nagios 9707 Sep 22 12:09 check_foo

Then you need to define it as a command object (i.e. in commands.cfg in 3.x), e.g. something like

define command{ name check_foo command_name check_foo command_line $USER1$/check_foo -I $HOSTADDRESS$ -x $ARG1$ -y $ARG2$...and so on }

The exact contents of your “command_line” entry will depend on the information that check_foo needs to operate. This is normally along the lines of a host IP address and one or more arguments. Pretty much all check plugins allow you to ./check_foo --help to assist with identifying the syntax and requirements for said plugin. The $USER1$ macro represents the path to your libexec directory. $HOSTADDRESS$ represent’s the IP address of the host from which the service check is called. These are filled in automagically by nagios.

Once that’s done, you may then use check_foo in your service check object, e.g.

define service{ use generic-service ; Inherit default values from a template host_name remotehost service_description FOO check_command check_foo!firstarg!secondarg }

Notice the check_command delimiter - ! - this seperates the arguments that are passed to the command object. The variable after the initial ! will map to $ARG1$, the one after the second ! to $ARG2$, and so on. When this check is called, nagios executes the following

Happy days! (Normally!)