Nagios + Fedora 9 [SOLVED]

Hi all,

I’m new in Linux and basically I’m starting with it because I need a good monitoring tool for our network.

I installed Nagios already on a VM with Ubuntu and had no problem using it… then I installed it on a server with Debian 9 and again, had no problem at all.

But my boss wants a server with Fedora as OS, so now I installed Nagios on Fedora 9, and guess what… I have problems !

The installation happens problemless, and when I’m finished I can run Nagios from a browser on the server itself… but I can’t reach Nagios from any other remote host.

I checked everything and both server and client see each other, httpd service is running (there’s actually 9 of them constantly running, even after a reboot or when I restart the service myself).

I also noticed some SELinux thingy that seemed annoyed by my attempts on starting Nagios remotely, but even after I disabled the damn thing I still cannot consult Nagios from a remote computer.

I googled my problem of course but didn’t find anything like it… or perhaps I can’t formulate it right… anyway, I’m stuck and I would appreciate some help.

Thanks in advance,
Michel

EDIT : maybe something useful >> I followed the official installation guide from Nagios using nagios-3.0.5.tar.gz as source.

Have you got a firewall between client and server, either as an interim hardware device or perhaps software on the server (something like iptables)? What happens when you telnet to your nagios server on port 80?

This is what I get from a telnet on port 80 to the server :

[quote]Connecting To 172.20.40.157…Could not open connection to the host, on port 80:
Connect failed[/quote]

I’m not surprised, I don’t expect it to accept telnet connections on that port, actually, even on port 23 it refuses the connection, which I expect it to do…

What I authorise to this server, is a SSH connection on 22, and I expect it to accept connections on port 80 through the httpd service.