Nagios Notifications Configuration

Hi folks

I’m new to using Nagios and am just toying around with it at the moment. One of the features that is very useful for me is the Nagios’ ability to send me an e-mail when a ping check to a router fails. I successfully installed Nagios and set up a ping check on a remote IP by configuring nagios/etc/objects/switch.cfg. Here is my definition of the ping check service (the default definition with notifications explicitly enabled).

define service{
        use                     generic-service ; Inherit values from a template
        host_name               bogus           ; The name of the host the service is associated with
        service_description     PING            ; The service description
        contact_groups          admins          ;Send notifications to admins
        notifications_enabled   1               ;Yes notifications
        notification_interval   120             ;
        notification_period     24x7            ;
        notification_options    w,u,c,r         ;
        check_command           check_ping!200.0,20%!600.0,60%  ; The command used to monitor the service
        normal_check_interval   1               ; Check the service every 5 minutes under normal conditions
        retry_check_interval    1               ; Re-check the service every minute until its final/hard state is determined
        }

I have postfix running (I have sent test mails and they work fine), and contacts.cfg seems correctly configure.

When I turn the switch off, the web based GUI shows that the ping check has failed, but no notification is sent out. I checked the syslog and the Nagios log to verify this. Is there anything I can do to fix the situation?

Thanks in advance

is anything in the notifications page of nagios?

do you have a user defined with notifications enabled?
are notifications enabled for the host AND for the service in the switch.cfg ?

Hey IHouse,