New to Nagios need help pleasee

Hi, so first of all let me tell you I’m COMPLETELY new to Nagios and Linux Ubuntu, and the Nano program that I’m using to edit it. For my summer intern job I was just assigned to add two routers/host to Nagios using Nano like I said. I have gotten as far as finding out how to open Nano and Nagios, get admin power and that’s about it. I don’t really expect a full rundown step by step of how to do this. But if anyone knows a good site or something like that where I wont have to read every Nano command and Nagios config would be nice. I really don’t have a clue what I’m doing but that’s my job for the next few days and my research is fail so far. Please someone reply…
Thanks
Ryan N

Nano guides:
gentoo.org/doc/en/nano-basics-guide.xml
mintaka.sdsu.edu/reu/nano.html
nano-editor.org/docs.php

As for Nagios, I really advise you to read the documentation so you could know how it works. There are some quick tutorials, but those would confuse you, 'cause you don’t know how to move around Linux and Nagios.
Complete documentation:
nagios.sourceforge.net/docs/3_0/toc.html
Monitoring router:
nagios.sourceforge.net/docs/3_0/ … uters.html

Object configurations:
wiki.centos.org/HowTos/Nagios#he … 3bc1d61447
(don’t get confused with the specified vim command, it is just an editor just like nano is)

Every time you change the configuration it won’t be applied to Nagios. You have to reload Nagios with a command (as root):
/etc/init.d/nagios reload

nfsv4.bullopensource.org/doc/adm … Nagios.pdf

Yea that’s basically exactly what I was looking for. Thanks so much for all the links I should easily be able to get this done within the next few days now. Again thanks a lot.

Ryan N