Problem when I start Nagios with Mysql

Hi,

I’m a beginner with Nagios.

I follow different manual to install Nagios on Debian.

I’ve create a Mysql database + Nagios User + config etc/nagios/resource.cfg and /etc/nagios/cgi.cfg to put the database name + User and password.

I’ve put the check_nagios_db in /etc/nagios/

When I launch **./usr/sbin/nagios -v /etc/nagios/nagios.cfg **
I have this message :

*(Things look okay - No serious problems were detected during the pre-flight check) *

But …

When I do this

/etc/init.d/nagios start

I have this error message :

*Starting nagios: DBI connect(‘database=;host=;port=’,’’,…) failed: Access denied for user ‘root’@‘localhost’ (using password: NO) at /etc/nagios/check_nagios_db line 55
nagios. *

And I can see this in snort log :

[1121899930] Error: Could not connect to MySQL database ‘’ on host ‘’ using username ‘’ and password ‘XXXXXX’. Retention data will not be processed or save$
[1121899930] Error: Could not connect to MySQL database ‘’ on host ‘’ using username ‘’ and password ‘XXXXXX’ for comment data!
[1121899930] Error: Could not connect to MySQL database ‘’ on host ‘’ using username ‘’ and password ‘XXXXXX’ for downtime data!

The Web interface work but I can’t do nothing, and i have this message:

*Whoops!
Error: Could not read host and service status information!

The most common cause of this error message (especially for new users), is the fact that Nagios is not actually running. If Nagios is indeed not running, this is a normal error message. It simply indicates that the CGIs could not obtain the current status of hosts and services that are being monitored. If you’ve just installed things, make sure you read the documentation on starting Nagios.

Some other things you should check in order to resolve this error include:

Check the Nagios log file for messages relating to startup or status data errors.