Problems with installing

Hi,

I’m completely new to nagios so sorry if my question seems kinda stupid.
I’ve installed version 2.0 on my SUSE 10 webserver with apache 2.0. The installation came with no errors.
But I noticed that it had not created the /nagios/etc directory. So I created it myself and placed the nagios.cfg sample file in it.
I was able tot connect to the nagios webpage for my site but when I hit ‘Tactical Overview’ I get an 'Error: Could not read object configuration data!".

The I’ve done the nagios -v procedure on my config file And I get teh following errors:
Error: Cannot open resource file ‘/usr/local/nagios/etc/resource.cfg’ for reading!
Error: Cannot open config file ‘/usr/local/nagios/etc/checkcommands.cfg’ for reading: No such file or directory

I think not everything was installed during installation but I’ve done it just like the documentation told me to do and got no error messages.

Any thought on what I’ve done wrong?

Thanks,
Bert

Did you do the following when installing:

./configure
Make all
Make install
Make install-init
make install-commandmode
make install-config

this shoud give you all directories and sample config files

Install plugins:

Tar –xvzf nagios-plugins-1.4.2.tar.tar

./configure
make
make install

NOTE: If anything goes tits up do “make clean” and you can re-compile

then for WEB Interface apach integration:

Make sure the this line is uncommented in your httpd.conf file

Include conf.d/*.conf

vi /etc/httpd/conf.d/nagios.conf

ScriptAlias /nagios/cgi-bin /usr/local/nagios/sbin

<Directory “/usr/local/nagios/sbin”>
Options ExecCGI
AllowOverride None
Order allow,deny
Allow from all
AuthName "Nagios Access"
AuthType Basic
AuthUserFile /usr/local/nagios/etc/htpasswd.users
Require valid-user

Alias /nagios /usr/local/nagios/share

<Directory “/usr/local/nagios/share”>
Options None
AllowOverride None
Order allow,deny
Allow from all
AuthName "Nagios Access"
AuthType Basic
AuthUserFile /usr/local/nagios/etc/htpasswd.users