Remote host not display

Hi,

I am a newbie in Nagios. I installed Nagios 3 with NRPE for remote Linux server monitor.
I created a remotehost.cfg file (Actually copied from localhost.cfg file) under /usr/local/nagios/etc/objects for my remote host. It looks like this

Define a host for the local machine

define host{
name linux-box ; Name of this template
use generic-host ; Inherit default values
check_period 24x7
check_interval 5
retry_interval 1
max_check_attempts 10
check_command check-host-alive
notification_period 24x7
notification_interval 30
notification_options d,r
contact_groups admins
register 0 ; DONT REGISTER THIS - ITS A TEMPLATE
}

define host{
use linux-server ; This host definition will inherit all variables that are defined; in (or inherited by) the linux-server host template definition.

host_name               remote1
    alias                         remote1
    address                 192.168.0.102
    }

I restart nagios and went to the web interface, the remote host is not showing up. Only the loalhost there. I waited for hours and it still not showing up.

Can anyone help me?

Thank you so very much in advance.

Harry

I suspect it could be because you’ve called your template ‘linux-box’ and you are inheriting a template called ‘linux-server’

Thank you. This has been fixed.

Now, there is another problem I had. In the server I see check_mysql under /usr/local/src/nagios-plugins-1.4.11/plugins/, but I moved the same install package over to the client and install it, the check_mysql is not there. Not sure why.

can anyone help?

Perhaps it cannot find your mysql install. Try adding –with-mysql=DIR to your configure statement and re-install - the directory ‘DIR’ that you supply to the argument should be the one that contains bin/mysql_config as per the configure help statement:

--with-mysql=DIR        Locates mysql libraries. Expects
                          DIR/bin/mysql_config. Default to search for