Seeking best practice advice for switch monitoring

I am new to Nagios but thanks to this forum and documentation I have quickly gotten up to speed for servers and printers.
I am stumbling on switches…I want to know if they are up and accomplished that with a ping check, no problem.
I liked what I read on the forum about checking hosts rather than switch ports…suspect thats a can of worms I may not want to open but think I’m of the host over port mindset…with some future consideration for dependencies…but not today.
So I’d like to monitor thresholds on bandwidth usage …and on the routers, in addition to a ping test, I think I do need to know port status and bandwidth.
I’m seeing scripts containing MIBs and OIDs and think I could get the hang of these, also see some discussions that snmpchecks will do what I want and see some talk of maybe some plugins that accomplish what I need. but I’ve not had any luck getting these to work…
platform:
I am on CentOS 5.4 using Nagios 3.2.1 installed via the YUM installer. I’ve noticed that my directories are not always where the docu says they will be…suspect thats install method, but maybe I’m missing something? (example…I dont have anything under /usr/local/ and docs often call on /usr/local/nagios/libexec) I am EARLY in the install and nothing is production…I can wipe all and start over if needed
Questions:
Whats best practice for accomplishing what I’ve mentioned above? If I use scripts, I’m not sure where to place them, the documentation lists directories I dont have and once there, how to I tell Nagios to call on them. Do I need these scripts? Is there a simple snmpcheck or plugin that accomplishes this?
I need to monitor multiple sites and more may be added so group management flexibility is important if that weighs on the answer.
Thanks to anyone who can provide me with some guidance over this bump.