Unable to send arguments to remote host with NRPE

Greetings,

I’m new to Nagios and I’m wondering what I might be missing after having read the documentation, downloaded, compiled and installed Nagios, plugins and NRPE.

Anyway, I’m trying to get command line arguments passed to a remote server (Fedore Core 7) from my Nagios server (Fedore Core 5) using *cfg files. Here’s what I have:

nagios version 3.02
nagios plugins version 1.4.14
nrpe versioin 2.12

nrpe daemon compiled with:

–enable-ssl
–enable-command-args

AND

dont_blame_nrpe=1 in nrpe.cfg on remote and Nagios server (just in case).

This works from the command line of the Nagios server as nagios user:

check_nrpe -H remote_server
NRPE v2.12

This also works from the command line as nagios user:

check_nrpe -H remote_server -c check_load -a 15,10,5 30,25,20
OK - load average: 0.00, 0.02, 0.00|load1=0.000;15.000;30.000;0; load5=0.020;10.000;25.000;0; load15=0.000;5.000;20.000;0;

Now for the service configuration on the Nagios server:

define service{
use generic-service ; this is the template that gets installed with the quick start guide
host_name remote_server
service_description Current Load
check_command check_nrpe!check_load!15,10,5!30,25,20
check_interval 1
}

nrpe.cfg on monitored server:

dont_blame_nrpe=1

command[check_load]=/usr/local/nagios/libexec/check_load -w $ARG1$ -c $ARG2$
#command[check_load]=/usr/local/nagios/libexec/check_load -w 15,10,5 -c 30,25,20

When I look at the check_load service for remote_server in the web interface I see:

Warning threshold must be float or float triplet!
Usage:check_load -r] -w WLOAD1,WLOAD5,WLOAD15 -c CLOAD1,CLOAD5,CLOAD15

I see this in /usr/local/nagios/var/nagios.log:

SERVICE NOTIFICATION: nagiosadmin;remote_server;Current Load;UNKNOWN;notify-service-by-email;Warning threshold must be float or float triplet!